Semester One.

January 29, 2013 § Leave a comment

I’ve decided to write a post about my first semester at university – but really I’ve been made to write it by my lecturer, Kev/Kevlar.

For those of you that don’t know I go to Southampton Solent University and commute from Portsmouth every day. So an hour journey every day in, and an hour journey out. But luckily, that is the one of only a few rubbish parts.

I know I’ve defiantly picked the right course, which is great. I was worried I’d regret not picking Magazine Journalism or advertising – but Multimedia Journalism covers them all and much more. I think the hardest part so far has been all the assessments that were due in December. There was about 7 due in one week – crazy. I’m happy with my grade I’ve got bad, but can’t help but feel I could have done better, so this year I’m determined to do just that.

I’ll be really cheesey here and say the last few months have flown by, they’ve been really hard personally and coming to university helped me take my mind off it everything I was struggling with at home. For a few hours a day I could forget it all – not that it was easy – but eventually, do-able.

I was most worried about getting to know people – but I don’t think any one has had any problems in our course. We’ve already planned the Paris trip together in March – disneyland and shopping – woop woop. I think we all concider ourselves lucky to have great support here too – yes, that means you Kevin and Kristian!

Also a huge support, the paid work we do here – sitting in one room working on our blogs, work experience and assessments – and we got paid. I also got my first little bit of work experience, for Solent Creatives reporting on an opening of an Art exhibition. And, ofcourse, I started this blog – which has been such a great thing, somewhere I can talk/moan/discuss what I want to with you all!

I feel like I’ve done so much already, and it’s only been a few months…and if you have read up until now, you may be forced to read another in a few months time too. “Semester Two.”

MyCollage_6[2]

Speak soon xo

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Semester One. at Sophie Read.

meta

